Thoughts on Trolls. Do they all have little jewels in their bellies?

Y’all remember the Troll dolls? They’re cute little buggers, aren’t they? It would be nice if they were the only trolls in existence, but I must sadly report that they are not.

For example, the evil asshat troll, Wendy Apple (or some of her minions), somehow contrived to shut down Judy May’s Facebook page for “misconduct”. Apparently, in Wendy Apple’s little world, if you can forcibly shut someone up it show how “right” you are. I hate to break it to Wendy Apple, but that kind of backstabbing and bullying just makes her look like a tremendous twat. Some people have chastised me for calling her an asshat. I think Wendy Apple has proved beyond a shadow of a doubt that “asshat” is an excellent word to describe her.

BTW — You can still go to the Support Judy Mays page. I highly recommend “liking” it to show your support.

So what makes a troll? Trolls are people who are desperate for attention. They almost invariably use immature or vile comments to garner this attention. It’s not that they disagree with me; a normal person can write, “I vehemently disagree with you! You are the real asshat!” and I would not consider them a troll. A conservative, maybe – but not a troll. Nope, trolls post things like “I like rape!” or other such inflammatory inanity. Or they try to use shocking words. I’ve been to Ireland; I will not be shocked.

In short, a troll is an asshat.

The upside to trolls is it means the general public is finding your blog. That’s nice, but what do I do with troll comments? Do I leave them up? Do I run EVERTHING through moderation? Do I just delete them? What? And what do I do about comments that are not TRYING to be offensive, but are based on culturally-supported misinformation?

Now, go forth and don’t be an asshat.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thoughts on Trolls. Do they all have little jewels in their bellies?

  1. BarbN says:

    I’ve only had a couple of troll comments in my seven years of blogging, so I may not be qualified to answer this, but I deleted them. I felt a few qualms about it the first time it happened, but since the person never re-appeared, the second time I had no problems with it at all. Comments from people who just don’t know what they’re talking about are trickier. I would have a hard time deleting them, unless you can tell for sure it’s just a drive-by (did they actually read your post?), in which case I’d still delete it, or maybe just put in a snarky comment of your own. Or reply briefly with a link to better information. You’re probably not talking about people who disagree when they comment but genuinely want to discuss, since that would make them not-asshats. :-)

  2. Diva says:

    Ah. I’ve had a couple trolls. FIrst time I responded civilly and asked that personal remarks be omitted from such vitriolic responses. Failing at the high road I started deleting the dork. :P

  3. Luna says:

    I mock them. Mercilessly. I ask them about the size of their microscopic penis. I ask them how they managed to get through life being so incredibly stupid. I laugh at them. They go away.

    In real life, I just ask them if they’ve found Jesus. Gets rid of most of ‘em. I even got rid of a stalker that way. It works REALLY well. Ask them to pray with you. Get all fundie on them. :D

  4. londonmabel says:

    I don’t know, but I’m not anti-deleting, in that it’s your “property.” If you want to erase evidence that someone was in your home, that’s your business. ;-)

  5. Toni says:

    my opinion? delete, delete, delete. it’s your place and you don’t have to put up with trash being dumped in it.

Leave a Reply

