Let’s talk about the good things for a mo, shall we?

There were no fatalities from last nights storm cell in our county. No tornadoes touched down in St. Louis, either. After the nightmare of this tornado season, I think we could all use a little bright spot of news.

That being said, I am also please to report that Angela, over at Begging The Answer  has nominated me for a Stylish Blogger Award, which is ironic since my “style” runs along the Goodwill motif. Seriously, I dress like a Sports Lesbian. I had lesbian roommates and they were both suspicious I was just in denial about what team I played for, until they realized I was just incapable of devoting more than 40 seconds toward fixing my hair and face in the morning and thus went makeup-less and in a ponytail all the time. I could have claimed that I was grunge in the 90’s … but so few grunge people put scrunchies around their ponytails.

Anyway, as a condition of my award, I must tell you 7 random things about myself and then pass the award on to 5 other bloggers. So, here are my seven wonders:

1) I wear huge white cotton granny panties because they are comfortable and can be washed in hot water without fading.

2) My hands look just like the paws on a sea otter. I should crack abalone on my chest y’all.

3) When I was in preschool, I was flogged and pecked in a brutal attack by an irate hen. In fairness, I had totally stolen one of her baby chicks. I just wanted to pet it, but she unleashed hell on me just in case I was trying to eat it. That was a good hen. A noble hen. My role model as a mother, frankly.

4) I can flare my nostrils like a pig.

5) I wore a blue wedding dress.

6) I spent 8 weeks in Ireland, during the spring/summer of 2003.

7) I’m scared of the dark, and sleep with a nightlight … even with Sweet Babou there to protect me from monsters.

Now, for the 5 Bloggers du jour. I am picking these five because I like their style, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love my other bloggy peeps. In fact, this was really hard, because I have so many blogs in my life that I think are just awesome. I may need to drink amaretto and milk to de-stress after this.

1) Echidne of the Snakes

2) I’m gonna’ kill him

3) Feministe

4) The Fat Nutritionist

5) Hanna Brooks Olsen

There you have it folks.

Now, go forth and be free from tornadoes. Tornadoes are asshats.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s talk about the good things for a mo, shall we?

  1. SueG/Patchwork Betty says:

    I envy the 8 weeks in Ireland, it’s a someday place for me.

    Proud Mama Julie should be posting soon. Congrats Hurricane

  2. lunarmom says:

    Holy crap! My girl got a Fokker award! I may collapse from the pride and joy of it all. I adore you and your wee otter paws Darlin’ -simply adore you. ;)
    Julie
    (the sMother of that number five blogger, who is now going to need many more snacks to get her through the thrill of this news)

  3. Renee says:

    So glad to hear you’re okay after Mother Nature’s wrath. We went into the closet/storm shelter 3 times that night. Not conducive to a good night’s sleep. I also find it ridiculous that I had to turn on the heat yesterday – it’s the freakin end of May for cripes sake!

    Congrats on the award, can’t think of a more deserving recipient. Your 7 wonders leave me with one thought – clearly clothes do NOT make the woman – because Baby you ARE stylin’ in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

