Moo

Y’all, they now have cows that can produce human milk. No, I am not shitting you.

I have mixed feelings about this. First, I want this tested thoroughly to make sure it is INDEED breast milk. Plus, I want to know they didn’t splice in scorpion genes or whatnot into it, like they do some GM crops. Will this really digest as well as mother’s milk in humans? Or will it muck about with the flora and fauna in our guts? Inquiring minds want to know.

If it turns out that they have made human breast milk, then let me give a big old alleluia. Why? Because formula sucks dog-ass. For one thing, a lot of formulas have high fructose corn syrup in them. You know, the stuff that makes you much fatter than cane sugar will? Therefore, if mothers who cannot (or will not for whatever reason) breastfeed can get human milk for their babies, bypassing the craptastic formulas that are sold, and that will be a very good thing. Moreover, people who buy milk in stores will be better off (digestion wise) if there is human milk available. A lot of people are sensitive or allergic to cow’s milk. It can cause some real problems for some. However, a human who is allergic to human milk is a rare animal, so most people could drink the ‘human’ milk made by cows with no problems. Milk is a powerful complete protein. It would be nice if more people could drink it more easily.

Although if they start putting growth hormone in the cows to get the human milk, then we’re back to square one. You would want to buy the rBGH-free stuff.

Until there is more information, I am leery yet excited about the whole thing. Let’s call it “skeptically optimistic”.

Now, go forth and don’t be an asshat.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in are you kidding me with this shit?, Feminism, motherhood, shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moo

  1. Skye says:

    Luckily, I am not allergic to cow’s milk because the idea of drinking human breast milk, now that I am no longer an infant, squicks me out. Like that place that serves ice cream made with human breast milk.*shudder* But, it would be great for babies who are given formula!

  2. I am at a loss. I don’t know how what to think about this. I think I need to know how they accomplished this before I go any further in my thought processes.

  3. lunarmom says:

    With you all the way on this one My Pope, but then…. you knew that already.
    Julie

Leave a Reply

