I’d love to blog but …

I have several blog topics I want to post about. Several. So why aren’t I posting them? In a nutshell – Spock. Spock has an ear infection and  a new motto: No Naps! Frankly, I expect to see her in the living room doing a modified soliloquy from Gone With the Wind wherein she swears, as God as her witness, she will never go down for a nap again.

I don’t know how she’s going so long without sleep. She’s awake a lot a night, too. Well, she can sleep as long as I am walking around holding her, so she is probably getting more sleep than I realize. However, I am NOT getting sleep. Ever tried to blog when you are too tired to think coherently? It’s not easy. My train of thought is hard enough to follow when I am fully rested. I cannot imagine chasing my rambling thread of topic when I am typing-while-loopy.

Tea. I need some tea.

Moreover, it is hard, very hard, to blog with a toddler clinging to one’s legs and shrieking because she is not being held. Especially when that toddler has the valid excuse of an ear infection to explain her urgent need to become a permanent resident of Mamma-Hip. Part of the problem is that she is spoiled rotten. It’s my fault, I know. My only defense is that if God didn’t want her to be this spoiled he shouldn’t have given her to me; He knew what would happen.

I’m going to see if Jack’s Big Music Show will distract her long enough to load my dishwasher, at least. Wish me luck. I’ll try to get some quality blogging time in ASAP.

If Spock doesn’t want her naps, can I have them?

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in daughters, life as I know it, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’d love to blog but …

  1. Renee says:

    I’m suffering with you!!! The unbelievably adorable Calvin-saurus Rex is visiting for the week, and he’s come down with an ear infection. He won’t eat, won’t drink, barely sleeps, 101.4 fever. We took him to a CVS MinuteClinic today to get some anti-biotics – not totally feeling confident that the Nurse Practitioner there has been out of NP school very long. But we got some meds anyway. We were up from 3-4:30 this morning. He’s napping finally now. But Lord he’s cranky. All he wants is to be outside or be held.

    I hope Spock finds the eject button for your hip soon. In the meantime, there’s spoiling and then there’s spoiling. Love, affection and comfort is never spoiling. Maybe we can compare the bags below our eyes later!

  2. londonmabel says:

    Sending some sleepy vibes in the direction of both little ones. zzzzzzzzz

  3. London betty says:

    Ear infections are the work of the d**l. I have had so many sleepless nights and clingy days with small peeps with ear infections – this too will pass. Bloody miserable whilst it’s happening. FGBVs for you all. xx

  4. Mary Stella says:

    Poor babies all around! Wishing you all good long periods of uninterrupted sleep.

  5. lunarmom says:

    I know this might sound uncaring of me Sweetie, but just keep holding her, and holding her some more…. she’ll grow up WAY too fast, and then you will miss this time (even if it feels horrible right now). Seriously. You will. We’ll still be here though. ;)
    Julie

Leave a Reply

