Of persecution and suckage

There is simply no excuse for this shit.

There was a huge riot and a clash between Christians, Muslims, and the security forces in Egypt. Christians were protesting a recent attack on Church. They maintain they were peaceful until they were attacked by the Egyptian army and Muslim radicals, after which they fought back in self-defense, while the Egyptian government insists the Christians were violent first. The government leaders also swear on their mothers’ virginity that they never opened fire, but the hospital reports of bodies riddled with bullets shows this is a bare-faced lie.

I am smart enough not to conflate Muslim radicals with all Muslims – that’s stupid – but I do know that if the Far-Right Muslims get control of Egypt, the Coptic Christians are screwed. The same way Jews and Muslims and even Mormons, along with women and homosexuals of any religion, would be screwed if we became a radical Christian theocracy under some group of fundamentalist asshats. Radical Christians are just as scary as Radical Muslims, and I am not saying otherwise.

But right now Christians are being persecuted, horribly, in countries controlled by fundamentalist, radical Muslims. Again, fundamentalism is the problem … not Islam. But that isn’t much help for the Christians being killed or driven out of their homes.

I’m thinking about this as I head off to church. America has certainly got its flaws, but the First Amendment that keeps me safe from religious persecution is a peach and I love it. As long as we put our hand on a Bible and swear to uphold the Constitution, and not vice-versa, we’re in good shape vis-à-vis religion.

God Bless everyone, everywhere. Unless you are an asshat who persecutes others in “His name”, in which case I hope He smites you with boils and your genitals rot off.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in are you kidding me with this shit?, I've been thinking too much, Jesus loves you but I think you are an asshat, racism, shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of persecution and suckage

  1. Robin S. says:

    Heaven save us from -any- radical whosis that comes along. They are all bad.

  2. “God Bless everyone, everywhere. Unless you are an asshat who persecutes others in “His name”, in which case I hope He smites you with boils and your genitals rot off. ”

    My first snort of the day! Thank you Fokker.

Leave a Reply

