All the WOOT! All of it!

Y’all, I am doing a major Snoopy Dance of Joy right now. My little feet are just a’kickin.

*sounds of a delighted jig*

I just read on I09 that four young teenaged girls in Africa have figured out how to make a urine powered generator!! No gasoline required! No fossil fuels dumping pollutants into the air! Just pour in some pee-pee and you get electricity!

Seriously, just one liter of urine gives you 6 hours of electricity. Imma tell you right now, a single pregnant woman can keep a village going for days. Men will tell their wives, “Honey, I need to drink another beer so we can watch Skyfall on DVD later”. This is awesomeness to the power of googolplex!

The quartet of geniuses, which has three 14-year-olds named Duro-Aina Adebola, Akindele Abiola, Faleke Oluwatoyin, and a relatively elderly 15-year-old Bello Eniola in it, may have changed the way energy is produced world wide, and it certainly provides a potential solution to the energy needs of poor rural areas in developing nations. Furthermore, they offer yet MORE proof that if chicks are given the opportunities to be scientists and engineers, they can rock it like the big boys!

There is not enough Booya on the planet for me to express right now.

My biggest concerns are that: 1) their innovations will be squashed because Big Oil doesn’t want anyone messing with their profits even if it would save the earth and provide energy to millions of people, 2) They will be denied further educational opportunities and will be pressured into staying in a village and becoming someone’s wife because of their gender, and 3) the generators wouldn’t really work out well over the long term because science.

Still, for now I am just reveling in the achievements of four teenaged girls in Africa who chewed up racial & gender stereotypes and shat out gold. Much hugs!!

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in I like this, dammit., shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All the WOOT! All of it!

  1. Skye says:

    That’s very exciting! I hope it turns out to work very well and can be spread to the whole planet.

  2. Wendy says:

    Yay, girl power! And, I guess, yay pee power!

  3. Braless Betty says:

    “will be squashed because Big Oil doesn’t want anyone messing with their profits” I say Piss on them. Bad I know but I couldn’t resist.

  4. Robin says:

    Yeah, still a few bugs to work out. But yay! for them!

  5. Braless Betty – love the pun.
    That sounds so fabulous. Can we get them together with Al Gore? Buy them protection?

Leave a Reply

