Well, isn’t THIS interesting

 

Hey y’all. Here’s a chart I got out of The Daily Dish:

 

                                                           image

 

The upshot is that the tax breaks on the rich – you know, that top 5% who own 2/3 of the money in the USA – ensure that people poor enough to need help heating their apartments and feeding their infants will go without. Not to mention schools and homeless assistance.

Meanwhile, Tom Cruise, who is worth more than $25 Million, paid just a wee bit more than $400 in taxes on his multimillion dollar estate in Colorado. Frankly, I suspect he is in league with the Evil Galactic Emperor Xenu.

If y’all need me, I’ll be throwing a fit and falling in it.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Well, isn’t THIS interesting

  1. Becky says:

    Somehow, this surprises me not at all. And yet my father, who has worked hard all his life to keep us firmly in the middle class, still complains about how terrible it is the way we tax all the poor rich people to death and give the undeserving poor a free ride. While at the same time bitching mightily about the fact that I’ve been fighting for my Social Security Disability benefits for a year and a half now, with no end in sight. He doesn’t see the logic fail in any of this.

  2. Beth E (Invisible Betty) says:

    Interesting chart, though misleading to assume that by cutting something on one side, you could save something on the other.

    • Betty Fokker says:

      Sorry, lack of context. The tax cuts have already been passed, and the numbers on the right indicate how much REVENUE those tax cuts lost in incoming funds. In short, if the tax breaks for the wealthiest Americans hadn’t gone through then there would have been almost enough funding to end the cuts on the social-net programs and social services that are under fire.

  3. Clever Betty says:

    I live among some of the poorest of people. And I see the signs in their yards and the bumper stickers on their cars that indicate they vote for their oppressors. It’s endlessly frustrating.
    So much for TC’s integrity, eh? Just because he can get away with giving so little, doesn’t mean he has to. It’s a choice he’s making and it says a lot about who he is at the core.

  4. lunarmom says:

    This kind of thing just makes me want to heave. But ya know, I went grocery shopping yesterday and we couldn’t afford to buy many of things I would like to have (a roast for $29?), and I don’t like to waste food, so I won’t puke this exact minute. Unless I go read that chart again…
    Julie

Leave a Reply

