The Fokker falls over from a lack of surprise

Howdy y’all.

I am a big natural/organic foodie type person. My kids eat really, really well … and I am grateful that we can afford the healthy food for our kids and bitter as hell that all parents aren’t given that option. Do you know what they call “organic” food in Europe? They call it “food”. You have to label it if it’s the shit they sell to us in America. They don’t let genetically modified crops run free unless they are PROVEN not to harm anything, including the consumer. In the USA, those crops are okay-dokey unless proven otherwise. And European studies ‘don’t count’ because they aren’t American studies.

Guess who is a huge lobbyist in Washington, DC? Monsanto. They buy more politicians every year than I buy socks. I’d call them a tool of the Devil, but I think Satan has higher standards. It’s one thing when environmentally friendly and left-leaning organizations call you out for chicanery, but when Vanity Fair knows you are evil, you’ve really accomplished something … and that something is skanky. Anyway, Monsanto pays a lot of politicians a lot of money to remain unchallenged in their fuckery. They also have a right-wing crusade to call anyone who points out genetically modified crops are iffy at best, and causing a massive life-threatening health epidemic at worst, hippy-dippy eco-mentalists. Apparently caring about the effects of products on your kids’ health is for tree-huggers and Euro-trash.

Monsanto can kiss my crystal-sucking Earth-mother ass.

There is a book that does a very good job at chronicling Monsanto’s asshat behavior and dangers, with lots of stuff called ‘evidence’ and ‘reputable sources’, and I highly recommend it; Robyn O’Brien’s The Unhealthy Truth. Seriously, it is worth every penny. It also shows the connection between corporations and politicians, especially Dick Cheney (has anyone checked him for a birthmark shaped like 666?). Robyn O’Brien was a Republican housewife from Texas. These revelations shocked her, and she made damn sure they were true.

Now I come to the point of the blog. The Dutch have noticed that changing child’s diet is way more effective than meds for treating ADHD. I am not an anti-med crusader … I think bio-medicine can be great. However, I do know it is not a perfect and all-knowing panacea. I also think that the processed and genetically modified crap in everything we eat is the main causal factor (along with the ability to actually give it a diagnostic label) behind the exploding rates of disorders like ADHD and Autism, based on how effect changing the diet can be in treating these problems.

Lilo was diagnosed on the Autism spectrum a week after her fourth birthday. I was, in spite of my exposure to wonderful children who were on the spectrum and were awesome, devastated my baby had a problem I was helpless to do anything about. I went looking for answers. If sacrificing goats had been scientifically shown to decrease problems with autism, my back yard would have looked like a goat-pocalypse. Instead I found a lot of books, and European studies, about the effectiveness of diet. I read about the reason dyes like red dye #40 and yellow dye #5 & #6 have been banned in Europe; they cause some children to exhibit ADHD symptoms. These dyes are still used in America (European studies don’t count, remember?). I read about the reasons for removing genetically modified and processed food from Lilo’s diet, and the benefit of fish oil (I use Carlson’s lemon-flavored cod liver oil because it is free of pollutants and chemicals). Since it was the only thing I could do to help her, I made jolly-damn-sure that her food was safe for her before it went in her mouth.

At 4 years and 6 months, during the testing to see where on the spectrum that Lilo resided, she was determined to no longer be ON the spectrum. She was now just smart and over-sensitive and weird. Organic food, fish oil, and a lack of dyes had made that much of a difference.

Praise Jesus and pass the organic cod liver squeezings.

How come parents in Europe were able to make their kids safe from this shit, but we haven’t? WTF is up with us, as a nation, that we are no better informed? Way to go media. Don’t tell us about this but DO keep us appraised of Lindsey Lohan’s crotch pictures.

:::headdesk:::

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in are you kidding me with this shit?, daughters, motherhood, shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Fokker falls over from a lack of surprise

  1. Kate George says:

    It’s because so many of us go for the cheap and easy food our kids will eat. I’m guilty of this too at times. We over stressed as a nation of parents. We want what’s best for our kids, but we can’t always afford it. And some of us choose to remain ignorant, or don’t have the resources to become educated.

    In our town there is a grass roots movement to get local produce into the school. It’s great to have seasonal organically grown fresh fruits and veggies available at school. Of course the number of kids who will actually eat that stuff could improve…

    I’ve always believed that we are not doing enough for certain populations in this country. Single parents and kids need support. Monsanto and Kraft are just fine without it.

  2. Bethany says:

    The Dutch link goes to a “donate to NPR” page. Which is awesome, but not as helpful… I’d read about a study in NY (I think it was in NY) but the kids weren’t confirmed to have ADHD (apparently they can do actual chemical tests to see if we have too many of a certain neurochemical) and it was a really small sample size (under 50) which made me sad since I’m interested in trying to improve my ADHD control via diet (in conjunction with my meds) but it’s really difficult to find good studies to guide me.

  3. Bethany says:

    argh, too much of a certain neuochemical.

    Though this did remind me I forgot to take my med this morning! Digging it out of the purse now…

  4. Alis says:

    I find it more and more troubling when I read articles like these that the MINUTE someone says “change the food” there is a barrage of counter-statements that pop up all over the place. For example, ABC has this story: http://abcnews.go.com/Health/Allergies/adhd-food-allergy-case-restricting-diet/story?id=12832958&page=1

    In it the Dutch researcher points out that their study wasn’t actually for clinical ADHD, but for children with ADHD *symptoms* that might actually be coming from reactions/allergies to food. Seems perfectly reasonable to me–if the disease cannot be determined by a blood test (which I don’t know why they say if Bethany’s right and there IS such a test, but then I don’t trust these geezers anyway) and the symptoms overlap between different causes then why not try the elimination diet and just SEE if it works? Why? Because it’s hard. Yep, that’s right. It’s too hard to change the families’ diets to see if something that has virtually NO SIDE EFFECTS (see note) could potentially improve these children’s lives. Apparently living with a child with severe ADHD isn’t hard. Like *being* a child with severe ADHD isn’t hard. Like watching your child suffer EVERY DAY isn’t freaking HARD. Sheesh.

    If you were to consider the fact that no ADHD medicine is considered a “cure” and that the COMMON side-effects of the most often prescribed ADHD medications (Ritalin, Adderall, and Dexedrine) include jitters, nervousness, insomnia, tics, depression, dizziness, loss of appetite, headaches, upset stomach, and mood swings, I cannot imagine that you would think that 4 months of eating an elimination diet to see if there’s an underlying trigger would be worse. I could be wrong, but I just don’t see it.

    We have friends whose older son had no language, could not be left alone for any length of time without being restrained, and who were at the end of their rope. They had a second son with severe learning disabilities, ADHD, non-existent impulse control, and constant GI problems. The pediatrician waved around words like malnutrition and failure to thrive. In a last ditch effort they changed the kids’ diet–against their pediatrician’s advice and in the face of his dire warnings–and their elder became verbal within 2 weeks of eliminating all starches from their diet. Their younger is still an unbelievable bundle of energy, but he’s trained as a ballet dancer for 5 years and truly loves his life.

    My children are on the edges of the spectrum. I’m on the spectrum. My husband? Spectrum. There is no “cure” for us but I can darn well tell you that a change in diet would be a TINY inconvenience if the overall effect was that it alleviated some of my loved ones’ day to day difficulties.

    May Industry reap what it sows.

    Party on.

    (Note: there is a mentioned concern about nutrient deficiencies during the testing period, and I grant that the limited food choices do not provide everything a child needs, however, the prescription medicine has an equal if not greater problem with interrupting brain chemical development in children that at this time has never been tested or addressed and would in the long term be a much greater potential risk.)

  5. Bethany says:

    On testing, it’s not a blood test and it’s not done for most people diagnosed with ADHD but it’s something one can have done by a neuro-doc (forgetting the real word). A coworker of mine went that route–chemical diagnosis after suspecting it in himself and then has been on meds. I first did a few months with a therapist to try and get a good handle on it, before being referred to a psychiatrist (still seeing the therapist, too) to get a prescription because while my “approach” was helping, it wasn’t helping enough. So while all my symptoms suggest ADHD and my main med (Strattera) is an ADHD med (and helps So Much), I haven’t had my neurochemicals tested because it’s really expensive and, at this point, I don’t see the need. If it quacks like a duck and responds like a duck, I’m ok calling it a duck.

    Sounds silly, but sometimes I get jealous of the kids who get diagnosed while their parents are still able to do things like control diet and figure out doctors and meds and all that complicated jazz. There are so many steps involved in everything, it’s really easy to get overwhelmed.

    • Betty Fokker says:

      Babe, have you thought about trying the elimination diet? It’s not like you outgrow the food sensitivities/allergies that the Dutch are talking about. It might help. And I am glad your medicine is working for you! It sounds like you are more likely to be “true” ADHD (not food sensitive) but it might help your brain chemicals if you avoided red dyes and whatnot.

      • Bethany says:

        I actually started looking through my fridge last night. I try to eat a mostly natural diet anyway and was actually surprised. Apparently a diet of 95% Whole Foods stuff isn’t too bad. Of course, that’s ignoring all the times I eat out so I might have to start trying to look into whether restaurants are likely to be using that stuff. I already avoid most red dyes because one, I can’t remember which, isn’t vegetarian. So since I can’t ever remember which, I just avoid all reds as best I can.

        This is making me strongly think about talking to my doc about how to safely do a pescetarian elimination diet. Really glad you wrote it.

  6. Luna says:

    I completely believe it. I have three kids on the spectrum, and while none of them is falling off it because of the dietary interventions I have them on, all three improved dramatically, and all three regress dramatically if there are slip ups or cheating.

    Monsanto is EVIL. And I will boycott them until the day I die. Nestle too. Pretty sure there are no Kraft products in the house either. Ratbastards, all of ‘em.

  7. Jill says:

    Hey girlie,

    I love this. Monsanto is so so evil. Did you see Food, Inc.? They sued some poor farmer dude b/c he had some of their satanic GM corn in his crops. Which he didn’t even frickin’ plant, it blew over from one of fields. Such complete asshatery.
    jill
    http://inbedwithmarriedwomen.blogspot.com
    ps i have two smart n’ weird kiddos. they’re freakin’ awesome.

  8. Pingback: In Praise of Lilo | The Stay-at-Home Feminist Mom

  9. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Spew | The Stay-at-Home Feminist Mom

Leave a Reply

