Well, it’s about damn time

A miracle has occurred! Someone else noticed that the photoshopping bullshit has got to stop before people lose their damn minds and ever female in North America has a eating disorder! That’s right, the American Medical Association (AMA) has stepped up and complained about photoshopping in ads because, “Such alterations can contribute to unrealistic expectations of appropriate body image — especially among impressionable children and adolescents.”

image

Gee. how could someone ever look at the retouched photo and think of themselves as “fat” in comparison? And that’s not even mentioning the fact that, even unretouched, the model is probably very underweight for her height, which makes the “ideal” beauty hard enough for anyone to achieve.

You know what else you could do, AMA? You could make an effort to train more doctors not to be asshats that treat fat people like they deserve to die. Then the AMA would making even bigger strides toward a future free from fat-hate.

But I’ll take what I can get for now. Good job on the photoshopping thing, AMA!

Now, go forth and don’t believe a single thing you see in ads.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in daughters, fat hating, Feminism, I like this, dammit.. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Well, it’s about damn time

  1. lesley says:

    And the craziest part is that she looks so much better in the un-photoshopped picture. The photoshopped one looks unnaturally freaky. Or, as my husband likes to say, “Where the hell are her organs?”

  2. Love, love, love. Sending this to my little sister who is tall, thin, and gorgeous and yet all she talks about is how she needs to lose weight. I’d slap her for it, but it would hurt my big, fat hand.

  3. Becky says:

    From that last article you linked: “If you are overweight, you may have a harder time getting health insurance, or be made to pay higher premiums than your thinner counterparts.”

    MAY? Ha!

    I have two chronic diseases, requiring expensive medication and regular testing and follow up visits. I’m almost two years into the process of applying for Social Security disability. But the insurance companies never had a chance to deny me for any of that when I tried to apply for coverage last fall. Because they all said I’m too FAT to qualify for health insurance.

  4. Robin S. says:

    I would like to toss in here all the mothers I’ve argued with over the years who constantly nagged their children (boys are increasingly being brought into this cycle) to ‘watch’ their weight and wear ‘fashionable’ clothes. Peer pressure and those damn ads are more than enough to trash a young person’s self image without mom (and in some cases dad) adding to the issues. Keep your personal issues to yourself.

    My daughter would like to add the obsession with fat constantly outweighs the fact that muscle is heavier than fat. And in trying to reach an ‘ideal’ weight you lose valuable muscle tissue. (Think athletes, cheerleaders) Being able to pinch half an inch on your stomach does not make you fat. (Skin stretches…..)

    Okay, I’ll quit now. But this is definitely a soapbox issue for me.

  5. KarenB says:

    Sigh, just so many ways to get fokked when you are “over-weight.” Or female.

    On the bright side, I’m cruising the internet while the boy child is in the kitchen making chocolate chip/caramel cookies.

  6. robenagrant says:

    That’s exactly what I thought, Lesley. The unphotoshopped body is nicer. Still skinny, but nicer.
    I’m glad attention is being paid to this by the AMA, and thanks for the post Fokker.

  7. Ashley says:

    It’s nice but what about the real life people that are naturally just fabulous looking and women “get eating disorders because of them.” Are we going to tell them to stop being so damn attractive?

    • Becky says:

      There are two problems with this statement. #1 Real life people don’t look like this. If they did, ad designers and magazine editors would use them as models instead of photoshopping the ones they have to hell and gone. #2 You’re buying into the idea that women looking like this is both normal and beautiful. That this is the way we’re supposed to look. We’re not supposed to look like we’ve had ribs removed. A healthy human body should not look like a bobble head.

      Actually, there are three problems with this statement. #3 “Fabulous looking” women come in a wide variety of shapes and sizes. If people would quit obsessing about the narrow magazine definition of beauty and look around them, they’d see role models that inspire them to find their own beauty while still maintaining a healthy body.

      • Ashley says:

        I’m not saying that there are women who look just like the photoshopped ads, but you can’t deny there are women out there who are naturally thin, with clear skin, beautiful hair, striking features that are considered textbook pretty that women other women find themselves bowing their heads in sorrow because they don’t think they look as good. This isn’t about the photoshopped ads actually. I used to have bad body image too but it was because of real life girls in my class who were just textbook pretty and I wasn’t, and I felt horrible by comparison. Even if billboard ads and magazine ads completely stopped photoshopping and only put in models that looked like the average Jane, I highly doubt it would make much impact on the self esteem of young girls. There would always be some other source, and we wouldn’t be able to just chalk it up to being not real.

  8. Diva says:

    Long ago on some sitcom, I recall a character stating that, for Barbie to be real, she’d have to carry her kidneys in a handbag.

    Similarly, why, even in the unretouched photo, can I see the subclavicular RIBS at this woman’s sternum??? How is that even possible without being undernourished?

    Part of me wants to applaud the AMA though they are latecomers to the party. The other part of me just wants to feed that broad a bacon sandwich.

    • Ashley says:

      Feed her a bacon sandwich. Do you realize how rude, discriminatory, and body shaming that is? Not to mention referring to her as a broad. Sorry but you chose the wrong crowd to spew that garbage to. For the record, It’s common for bones to be visible there and the person to be healthy. Mine stick out like that, if not more than that even.

      • KarenB says:

        Ashley – you are correct in that there are women, like you, who are healthy with a very thin body type. You are also correct that it is wrong to discriminate against women whose body is naturally thin. However, the point here is not that thin is unhealthy, it is that our culture has taken to having the “ideal beauty” be not only that thin, which only occurs naturally in an extremely small percentage of women, but to photoshop them into even more thinness, to the point of utter impossibility. As Becky says, we come in a wide variety of shapes and sizes and there is beauty in all of those shapes. There are women who are naturally short and round and healthy. There are women who are tall and big-boned and curvy and are healthy. If it is rude and discriminatory for someone to find this extremely thin body type unattractive, it is equally rude and discriminatory for someone to find this, and only this, body type “fabulous.”

      • Diva says:

        Ashley, I was being a smartass.. And in fact I’m currently seven months pregnant and the only garbage i’m spewing is my breakfast every day.

      • Luna says:

        Sorry, Diva, but I’m with Ashley on this one. It is no better to shame a woman for being thin than for being fat. None of us here would be okay with “the other part of me wants to take the bacon sandwich out of that broad’s hand and point her at a treadmill”.

        My daughter’s ribs show. She’s not malnourished. But she certainly hears that she is. Regularly. And gets told to eat more. And and and. It’s not cool.

  9. Annie says:

    Totally loving the unretouched photo of the gal. Can’t stomach the retouched one, and neither can any man I know. Diva: I thought your comment was funny! But now I want a BLT…..

  10. grandma K says:

    so my doctor’s office calls to give me some lab results. And the nurse adds – and the doctor will discuss your weight at your next visit. Yeah, that’ll get me back in. I’m 58 years old – what are you going to tell me that I don’t already ?

  11. grandma K says:

    know. Don’t already know for heaven’s sake. Stupid computer.

Leave a Reply

