Eat Shit and Die

O Holy God.

I just read a post over on Moral Low Ground about the fact a “former United States Department of Agriculture scientist is warning American consumers that 70% of ground beef sold in the nation’s supermarkets contains ammonia-treated ‘pink slime.’”

‘Pink slime’ basically the ‘eyeballs and assholes’ of slaughtered cattle that is pulverized, dipped in ammonia, and then added to ‘ground beef’ just like it is meat when it is NOT. They are selling us this shit in supermarkets. They are giving it to our kids in school lunches. I am a big supporter of good public schools, but I pack a lunch every single day because I am NEVER going to let my kids eat some of the garbage they truck into lunchrooms by short-sight administrations buying from the evil profiteering bastards.

Where is the USDA in all this? Sure, it started under Bush, but Obama has done NOTHING to clean it up. Call me crazy, but I wants me some of that there “Big Government” when it comes to making and enforcing regulations that prohibit things like ‘pink slime’ from being in my food. Moreover, I really want the USDA to keep that funky crap out of school lunches. Especially since it may contain antibiotic resistant pathogens.

I am lucky. I can afford to buy locally raised natural beef at my neighborhood co-op. I am middle class, and can make those kinds of decisions … although it means a drastically slashed entertainment and clothing budget. We also eat more meat-less meals, and use meat more for flavoring a dish than as the main dish itself.

But WTF would I do if I was poor, stuck in a small town with only a Wal-mart to shop at, and had to buy this shit if I wanted ANY meat at all in my family’s diet? I would have to go vegetarian, which I have done of my own free will in the past. However, I would seriously resent being an involuntary vegetarian, you know? And I would really feel like I had no choice.

I guess I am just missing the real, the important, point of ‘pink slime’. A few people, like the executives of Beef Products,Inc — a company that makes ‘pink slime’, are getting rich from feeding Americans ‘connective tissue’ disguised as ‘ground beef’.

Frankly, I think feeding people, including children, a potentially dangerous and certainly disgusting product like ‘pink slime’ just to turn a larger profit makes you a Mammon-worshiping Asshat of the first water. You clearly want money more than you want any of that cheap moral integrity.

Yuck. On so many levels.

PS — Please go here to sign a petition to get this gunk outta school lunches.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in are you kidding me with this shit?, Mammon, shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eat Shit and Die

  1. Robin S. says:

    I appreciate the article, but glug, I was trying to eat breakfast.

  2. I have just found you through the paths that cannot be remembered, so I shall add you to my feed. I too hate a great many things, and feel that you shall be able to channel my anger, as well as your own, towards all things unjust.

  3. Carol says:

    That is just D-I-S-G-U-S-T-I-N-G. If the US is doing, maybe Canada is too. Oh My Lord!

  4. Kate George says:

    signed, sealed, delivered.

  5. Yuck, yuck, YUCK. What a disgrace. Thank you for finding and linking that petition. I just signed it.

  6. Luna says:

    Once again glad to be almost vegan. (I eat fish and white sugar).

Leave a Reply

