For all the stay at home parents

There has been a kerfuffle lately with the who stay-at-home-parents-are-working-parents thing. Especially if we don’t have a fleet of nannies and domestic workers to take up some of the burden.  So if we do a “real” job … why doesn’t that count for Social Security and whatnot? Only 1/4 of working families have a stay at home mom or dad, but I think we should count as part of the work force, and be treated accordingly.

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For all the stay at home parents

  1. bookmom says:

    Doesn’t Italy (Or did Italy) once require husbands to put money away for SAHM’s? I’m a SAHM and I homeschool both my kids. I always feel like I have to defend our position to do both.

  2. lunarmom says:

    I have thought this for decades, as did my mother (we both stayed home, by choice, and by making sacrifices). Didn’t Jenny do an outstanding job with that interview?!
    Julie

  3. SAHM’s are definitely undervalued. Also society would like to lambast women for staying at home and not producing income or lambast them for not staying at home and doing what’s best for their children.
    As usual, no way for women to win. Bastards.

  4. kk says:

    I’m a SAHM and my boyfriend does not appreciate what I do for our daugher and our household. He keeps saying I should get a job….as if taking care of our daughter is unimportant. Before she was born, we were on the same page about the importance of me staying at home with her, but now, he just seems to resent me. BTW, I have supported us financially since she was born (1 yr. ago) as, he has been unemployed. He just recently got a job, but I will still need to pay half of all expenses because he doesn’t make enough to cover everything…..so, I’m the only one making a financial sacrifice by staying at home with my daughter. He is contributing exactly what he would be contributing even if I had a paying job, so it’s not costing him anything. I don’t get it. Why would someone want their child in daycare if one of the parents was willing to stay at home AND make all of the financial sacrifices?

Leave a Reply

