I’m Glad We Had This Time Together

Dearest Readers,

The time has come, the Walrus said, to talk of many things. Sadly, I don’t have time enough in the day to let Betty Fokker be the one to talk of cabbages and kings anymore. Betty Fokker will still be on Facebook, and you can still email me, but the blog has now gone to live with Jesus.

I’ve got a career and blog under my real name that needs my time and attention in a way that has cut into Fokker Time so severely that I believe this blog is now less than wholly worthy of the readers. Y’all deserve the full Fokker. If I can’t give you that, then better I bow out now than to accidently or carelessly lower the quality until you all eschew my writing in disgust.

My other blog will occasionally have the continuing adventures of Lilo, Stich, and Spock under different code names. I’ll also blog about current events. It is only the rant that will be gone; calm and academic civility is the style of the other blog. I’ll have to keep my rants short and pithy on Facebook if I really need to let ‘em fly. Frankly, I probably will need to let the rant out every so often, or my head will explode from all the WTF boiling within it.

I’m not stepping down as Pope of the Syncretic Church of Non-assahts, but honestly the Pope of the Catholic Church is doing such a good job bitching about inequality and beating people over the head with what Christ said about alleviating poverty, that I feel superfluous. Nonetheless, remember that I am symbolically smiting evildoers with my Pope Hat of Spikes whenever you see a news story about some twatwaffle putting Mammon ahead of decency.

In theory, all the Fokker blog posts except this farewell will be taken down. Thus, I will put all the non-political stuff into another book or two, so that anyone who misses my writing can buy them.

I want to thank each and every one of you for allowing me to create Betty Fokker, and giving her room in your hearts.

This whole goodbye thing is making me weepy.

With love and gratitude,

Betty Fokker

About Betty Fokker

I'm a stay-at-home feminist mom.
This entry was posted in life as I know it, shit I think y'all should know. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m Glad We Had This Time Together

  1. deborahblake1 says:

    Okay, I don’t “like” but I understand. As long as you still come to the Betty Verse….

  2. what??? can’t you just do a benignly neglectful, possibly half-assed job like i’m doing w. mine? damn it!! looking forward to your book!!!!

  3. Veronica says:

    I am glad that you are venturing out into the world with your real name. I really am. But I am so sorry that I can’t see your beautiful, epic rants whenever the asshats have gone just another step too far.

    Also, I object to the removal of all your old posts. The Internet is forever! Keeping your old posts online will not stop people from buying your book! In fact, having the old posts here could actually inspire the purchase of your book. People are funny that way.

    • Betty Fokker says:

      I decided to take it down not because of the books (which will be $0.99 and thus not exactly lucrative) but because I the internet IS forever, and I still have to deal with nasty people/comments y’all just don’t see because I don’t approve the posts for public viewing. I don’t have the time or energy for that anymore 😦 Nonetheless, you can always reach me on email or Facebook!

  4. Robin says:

    Yesterday I kept getting posts from earlier this year and I thought Mercury was having fun. I am truly glad for you, but very sad for me. I LOVE your rants! Will miss them much. 😦

  5. M Davis says:

    Aww! I so looked forward to your posts, now I haz a sad.
    I guess there is nothing else to do but follow you to the other sites.
    I, too, like Veronica, wish you had left your posts up, but I have seen some nasties that leave their troll scat all over a comment board and I can cede you the point.
    Best to all your friends and family, since opportunities to send virtual hugs your way and theirs will be limited henceforward.

  6. Oh my. Okay. Understand. But sad with it.

  7. Sheena Walsh says:

    Nooooooo! Oh Betty, I am so sorry. I love all your posts. You expression things so beautifully and you inspire and reassure me as a parent and a wife. Are you able to put up the link to your remaining blog so I can still find tidbits?

Leave a comment